Adrian Kingsley-Hughes
Adrian Kingsley-Hughes
CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews

RECENT ARTICLES

Sort by:
No Rating
The new M1 iMac highlights everything that's wrong with Apple | ZDNet

The new M1 iMac highlights everything that's wrong with Apple | ZDNet

Byfor| April 22, 2021 -- 12:28 GMT (05:28 PDT)| Topic:Yes, Apple's M1 processor is amazing. Blazingly fast, runs cool, and it sips rather than gulps power. The Macs built around this processor are tempting -- really tempting -- but these Macs also highlight everything that's wrong with Apple. These Macs represent the end of the road to upgrades, as well as making repairs difficult for most users. Also: Apple has led the way in making products that take what were once simple upgrades and repairs and made them close to impossible. It began with the non-replaceable battery and culminated with...

Apr 25
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Must-have for your toolbox: Wago connectors | ZDNet

Must-have for your toolbox: Wago connectors | ZDNet

Byfor| April 10, 2021 -- 09:00 GMT (02:00 PDT)| Topic:I'm always on the lookout for things that make my work quicker, easier, more reliable, and last longer. Lately, I've started using something that ticks all the boxes: .Read more: Wago connectors, also known as lever nuts, are a great way to connect two, three, or five wires together. Flip the lever open, shove the wire in, flip the lever closed.They're super simple.Wago connectors offer a fast and effective way to make safe and secure connections for indoor use or within a junction box. They are not waterproof so cannot be used outdoors...

Apr 13
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
The six-month-old iOS 14 bug that Apple still hasn't fixed | ZDNet

The six-month-old iOS 14 bug that Apple still hasn't fixed | ZDNet

Byfor| April 12, 2021 -- 10:39 GMT (03:39 PDT)| Topic:iOS 14 was released back in September of 2020, and now, not only are we waiting for the iOS 14.5 update to land, but we're also starting to talk about iOS 15.But there's an iOS 14 bug that continues to plague some users, and there doesn't seem to be an end in sight.Here are the top iPhone models (new and old) available to buy right nowAnd that's the iOS 14 notifications bug.Read more: I've written about this bug a now, and I'm a bit surprised that it hasn't been fixed, but here we are, it's April 2021, and people are still being affected...

Apr 12
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Right to Repair doesn't go far enough (here's what we need to happen to see real change) | ZDNet

Right to Repair doesn't go far enough (here's what we need to happen to see real change) | ZDNet

Byfor| April 2, 2021 -- 10:30 GMT (03:30 PDT)| Topic:It might shock some people to know that while I'm a supporter of the Right to Repair, the movement pressing for government legislation to allow consumers and businesses to repair and modify their stuff, I don't think that it will help consumers that much in the long run.This is not to say that people shouldn't be able to repair their stuff. Absolutely not, and being able to repair things is crucial in keeping things out of the junk pile. But I think that the movement is focusing on a specific niche and ignoring the broader problems.The...

Apr 3
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Google Chrome: It's time to ditch the browser | ZDNet

Google Chrome: It's time to ditch the browser | ZDNet

Byfor| March 4, 2021 -- 12:20 GMT (04:20 PST)| Topic:Google Chrome is the most-used browser on the internet. The browser rose to fame as an alternative to slow, sluggish incumbents -- Internet Explorer and Safari. But Google Chrome has become the new leader, and as a result has itself become the sluggish incumbent.   It became the thing we hated. We created a monster.It's time for a change. Also: I don't say this lightly. Over the past few months, I've been testing browsers, examining things like performance, memory usage, battery usage, and overall feel of using the browser. I know that...

Mar 5
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
No more Lightning port: What will that mean for us? | ZDNet

No more Lightning port: What will that mean for us? | ZDNet

Byfor| March 2, 2021 -- 12:40 GMT (04:40 PST)| Topic:It seems increasingly likely that Apple is getting ready to phase out the Lightning port. Whether the will rip off the Band-Aid in one go, or whether we're in for a protracted death (a prominent Apple watcher on a previous claim it would happen this year), the writing is on the wall, and all signs point to the charging port's days being numbered.There are good reasons why Apple might want to do this -- less cost, more space inside the iPhone, one less thing to break or wear out -- but what does this mean for you, an iPhone user? Also: It...

Mar 4
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
LastPass making changes to free service | ZDNet

LastPass making changes to free service | ZDNet

Byfor| February 16, 2021 -- 16:14 GMT (08:14 PST)| Topic:Are you a LastPass Free user? The company has announced that .Everyone needs a password manager. It's the only way to maintain unique, hard-to-guess credentials for every secure site you and your team access daily.Currently, free users can access their LastPass account across device types, mobile, and desktop. Starting March 16th, 2021, free users will only be able to choose between having access on their mobile devices (including mobile phones, smartwatches, and tablets) or their computers (including all browsers running on desktops...

Feb 17
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Best wireless earbuds in 2021: AirPods and alternatives | ZDNet

Best wireless earbuds in 2021: AirPods and alternatives | ZDNet

Byfor| February 5, 2021 -- 21:27 GMT (13:27 PST)| Topic:Gone are the bulky headphones of old, with their huge over-ear cans and miles of cabling. For most, discreet earbuds are the way forward. With a good pair of earbuds popped into your ears, not only can you make and receive calls when on the move but also relax to music or your favorite audiobook, and isolate yourself from the noise and bustle of the world around you.But there are countless different earbuds out there to choose from, and since many are quite expensive, you're making a significant investment, and buying the wrong ones...

Feb 7
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Apple knows dropping the iPhone Lightning port would create 'unprecedented amount of electronic waste' | ZDNet

Apple knows dropping the iPhone Lightning port would create 'unprecedented amount of electronic waste' | ZDNet

Byfor| January 22, 2021 -- 12:47 GMT (04:47 PST)| Topic:Apple is on a permanent crusade against unnecessary ports, and it seems that next on the list is the iPhone's Lightning port.In many ways, it makes a lot of sense for Apple to drop the Lightning port from the iPhone. To begin with, it's one extra component that has to be fitted. It takes up space in the iPhone, and it's a hole that allows water and other random schmoo to enter the iPhone.You can recycle, you can donate, you can try and get cash back, but first, you've got to decide what to give up.It's also one less part to wear...

Jan 23
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Five iOS bugs and annoyances Apple needs to fix in 2021 | ZDNet

Five iOS bugs and annoyances Apple needs to fix in 2021 | ZDNet

Byfor| January 3, 2021 -- 10:00 GMT (02:00 PST)| Topic:With every iOS update, I become increasingly convinced that the platform has outgrown Apple's ability to manage it. It feels like Apple is more focused on new features than actually fixing and streamlining the platform, and there are aspects of the platform that have seen little to no love in years.Must read: AirDrop is great when it works, but when it doesn't, it's a nightmare. It offers no way to diagnose what's going wrong, and I end up having to reboot everything and futz about with the network connections to get it working...

Jan 4
Share
Save
Review
  • Total 10 items
  • 1
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%