Asha Barbaschow
Asha Barbaschow
CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews

RECENT ARTICLES

Sort by:
No Rating
A 'hole' new world for the potential of mini quantum computers | ZDNet

A 'hole' new world for the potential of mini quantum computers | ZDNet

By| April 6, 2021 -- 05:59 GMT (22:59 PDT)| Topic:A team of Australian and Canadian researchers have published a new study they say demonstrates a path towards scaling individual quantum bits (qubits) to a mini-quantum computer by using holes.It would be the harbinger of an entirely new medium of calculation, harnessing the powers of subatomic particles to obliterate the barriers of time in solving incalculable problems.The Australian Research Council (ARC) Centre of Excellence in Future Low-Energy Electronics Technologies (FLEET) said indicates holes are the solution to operational...

Apr 6
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Verkada disables accounts after reports its security cameras were breached | ZDNet

Verkada disables accounts after reports its security cameras were breached | ZDNet

By| March 10, 2021 -- 04:36 GMT (20:36 PST)| Topic:Following reports that live feeds from over 150,000 of its security cameras were exposed, including those situated in prisons, hospitals, schools, police stations, and Tesla factories, Verkada has disabled accounts to prevent further access.According to , a group of hackers accessed the data collected by the Silicon Valley startup. The hackers are reported as saying they also have access to the full video archive of all Verkada customers.Bloomberg claims to have sighted footage validating the details of the breach.Verkada has described...

Mar 10
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Facebook, Google, Microsoft, TikTok, and Twitter adopt Aussie misinformation code | ZDNet

Facebook, Google, Microsoft, TikTok, and Twitter adopt Aussie misinformation code | ZDNet

By| February 21, 2021 -- 23:39 GMT (15:39 PST)| Topic:A handful of technology giants operating in Australia have agreed on a code of practice that aims to stem disinformation on their respective platforms.All signatories -- Facebook, Google, Microsoft, Redbubble, TikTok, and Twitter – have committed to the Australian Code of Practice on Disinformation and Misinformation. They have also committed to releasing an annual transparency report about their efforts under the code.The [PDF] was prepared by the Digital Industry Group Inc (DiGi), a non-profit industry association advocating for the...

Feb 22
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
AWS asks new Australian computer warrant provide immunity for account takeovers | ZDNet

AWS asks new Australian computer warrant provide immunity for account takeovers | ZDNet

By| February 15, 2021 -- 05:24 GMT (21:24 PST)| Topic:Amazon Web Services (AWS) has asked for the introduction of a mechanism that can provide online account providers with immunity when responding to account takeover warrants issued by certain Australian law enforcement bodies.The call for such a mechanism follows the Surveillance Legislation Amendment (Identify and Disrupt) Bill 2020 being , which, if passed, would hand the Australian Federal Police (AFP) and the Australian Criminal Intelligence Commission (ACIC) three new warrants for dealing with online crime.The first warrant is a data...

Feb 15
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Communications Minister touts the opportunities of a Google-less Australia | ZDNet

Communications Minister touts the opportunities of a Google-less Australia | ZDNet

By| February 1, 2021 -- 08:19 GMT (00:19 PST)| Topic:Google last month threatened to from Australia if the Media Bargaining Code in its current form were to become law, but the prime minister and his army of ministers have said they are confident the likes of Microsoft could swoop in to fill the void if Google does in fact exit the market.Treasurer Josh Frydenberg on Sunday said Prime Minister Scott Morrison had spoken with Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella about the opportunities for Bing in a Google-less Australia, and during his address to the National Press Club on Monday, the prime minister...

Feb 1
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
IBM continues shopping spree with Taos acquisition to boost hybrid cloud business | ZDNet

IBM continues shopping spree with Taos acquisition to boost hybrid cloud business | ZDNet

By| January 15, 2021 -- 01:43 GMT (17:43 PST)| Topic:IBM has announced entering into an agreement to acquire cloud-focused MSP Taos.Adding Taos, IBM said, would further its cloud migration and transformation capabilities, which it touted is an important aspect of its hybrid cloud platform growth strategy. "Taos adds the deep expertise, public cloud partnerships, and innovative solutions needed to drive growth and adoption of IBM's hybrid cloud platform throughout the Americas," senior vice president of the company's cloud application innovation business, as well as IBM Global Business...

Jan 16
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Tech industry concerns put aside as Critical Infrastructure Bill enters Parliament | ZDNet

Tech industry concerns put aside as Critical Infrastructure Bill enters Parliament | ZDNet

By| December 10, 2020 -- 05:07 GMT (21:07 PST)| Topic:Minister for Home Affairs Peter Dutton introduced the Security Legislation Amendment (Critical Infrastructure) Bill 2020 into Parliament on Thursday, labelling it as a significant step in the protection of critical infrastructure and essential services that Australians rely upon."Critical Infrastructure underpins the delivery of goods and services that are essential to the Australian way of life, our nation's wealth and prosperity, and national security," Dutton said."While Australia has not suffered a catastrophic attack on our critical...

Dec 10
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Facebook and Google refuse 1 in 5 Australian law enforcement data access requests | ZDNet

Facebook and Google refuse 1 in 5 Australian law enforcement data access requests | ZDNet

By| November 17, 2020 -- 05:23 GMT (21:23 PST)| Topic:Both Facebook and Google have told a House of Representatives Standing Committee that they have each respectively refused 20% of Australia's law enforcement requests for data held on their platforms.For the 2019 calendar year, Google received 4,363 requests from Australian law enforcement agencies to disclose account level data to assist them in their investigations and a further 23 requests under the search giant's emergency disclosure policy, which is used in cases where life is deemed to be imminently at risk. The approval rate for...

November 17, 2020
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Atlassian says encryption-busting law has damaged Australia's tech reputation | ZDNet

Atlassian says encryption-busting law has damaged Australia's tech reputation | ZDNet

By| July 27, 2020 -- 04:53 GMT (21:53 PDT)| Topic:Atlassian believes Australia's encryption-busting legislation continues to have a negative impact on the country's technology sector, both from the perspective of partnering with an Australian company and attracting tech talent down under. "The Act's passage has significantly degraded the global reputation of the Australian tech sector, as local companies and multinationals alike question whether actions compel them to the Act will degrade industry's ability to secure customer data and place their employees at individual peril," Atlassian...

July 27, 2020
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
IBM researchers tout potential key to reversing antibiotic resistance | ZDNet

IBM researchers tout potential key to reversing antibiotic resistance | ZDNet

By| July 21, 2020 -- 10:00 GMT (03:00 PDT)| Topic:IBM has published research that it touts could hold the key to reversing antibiotic resistance."Since the discovery of penicillin in 1928, antibiotics have transformed the world of medicine. They have prevented the spread of disease, saved countless lives, and curbed the effects of infectious epidemics," IBM said. "Unfortunately, antibiotics have also frequently been misused, which has led to one of the largest threats to global health, food security, and development: Antibiotic resistance."In a blog post, IBM explained that a new strategy...

July 21, 2020
Share
Save
Review
  • Total 12 items
  • 1
  • 2
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%