Cathrin Schaer
Cathrin Schaer
CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
RECENT ARTICLES
gold-cheese75%
Microsoft dropped for open source: Why Hamburg is now following Munich's lead | ZDNet

Microsoft dropped for open source: Why Hamburg is now following Munich's lead | ZDNet

Byfor| June 5, 2020 -- 12:09 GMT (05:09 PDT)| Topic:Microsoft is bent on bringing Linux desktop to Windows 10 users0:52The trend towards open-source software on government computers is gathering pace in Germany. In the latest development, during coalition negotiations in the city-state of Hamburg, politicians have declared they are ready to start moving its civil service software away from Microsoft and towards open-source alternatives.The declaration comes as part of a 200-page coalition agreement between the Social Democratic and Green parties, which will define how Hamburg is run for the...

zdnet.com
Cathrin Schaer
Jun 5
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Linux not Windows: Why Munich is shifting back from Microsoft to open source – again | ZDNet

Linux not Windows: Why Munich is shifting back from Microsoft to open source – again | ZDNet

Byfor| May 14, 2020 -- 11:05 GMT (04:05 PDT)| Topic:Why 2019 was the year of Linux and open-source software1:06In a notable U-turn for the city, newly elected politicians in Munich have decided that its administration needs to use open-source software, instead of proprietary products like Microsoft Office. "Where it is technologically and financially possible, the city will put emphasis on open standards and free open-source licensed software," negotiated between the recently elected Green party and the Social Democrats says.The agreement was finalized Sunday and the parties will be in...

zdnet.com
Cathrin Schaer
May 14
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%