Charlie Osborne
Charlie Osborne
CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
3 reviews

RECENT ARTICLES

Sort by:
gold-cheese100%
Bluetooth exploit can track and identify iOS, Microsoft mobile device users

Bluetooth exploit can track and identify iOS, Microsoft mobile device users

A flaw in the Bluetooth communication protocol may expose modern device users to tracking and could leak their ID, researchers claim. The vulnerability can be used to spy on users despite native OS protections that are in place and impacts Bluetooth devices on Windows 10, iOS, and macOS machines. This includes iPhones, iPads, Apple Watch models, MacBooks, and Microsoft tablets & laptops. Simple steps can make the difference between losing your online accounts or maintaining what is now a precious commodity: Your privacy. On Wednesday, researchers from Boston University David Starobinski and...

July 17, 2019
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Remote code execution vulnerabilities uncovered in smart air fryer | ZDNet

Remote code execution vulnerabilities uncovered in smart air fryer | ZDNet

Byfor| April 20, 2021 -- 08:15 GMT (01:15 PDT)| Topic:In another example of how connectivity can , researchers have disclosed two remote code execution (RCE) vulnerabilities in a smart air fryer.RCEs are often considered to be some of the most severe types of vulnerabilities as they allow attackers to remotely deploy code, potentially leading to the hijack of a system, remote tampering, and the execution of additional malware payloads.  While targeting consumer products and executing an RCE may not have the same immediate impact as on a corporate network, it is still worth highlighting that...

Apr 20
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Google fails to quash Incognito mode user tracking, privacy lawsuit | ZDNet

Google fails to quash Incognito mode user tracking, privacy lawsuit | ZDNet

Byfor| March 15, 2021 -- 14:33 GMT (07:33 PDT)| Topic:Google has failed to have a proposed class-action lawsuit quashed that alleges the company violated user privacy by collecting data in Incognito browser modes. The lawsuit, originally filed in , claims that Google tracks and collects consumer browsing history, among other activities, even when Chrome's Incognito or other privacy-based browser sessions are in use. Filed in the District Court of Northern California, the class-action complaint alleges that when an individual visits a web page served by Google services -- such as plug-ins,...

Mar 16
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Whistleblower claims Ubiquiti Networks data breach was ‘catastrophic’ | ZDNet

Whistleblower claims Ubiquiti Networks data breach was ‘catastrophic’ | ZDNet

Byfor| March 31, 2021 -- 07:38 GMT (00:38 PDT)| Topic:A whistleblower involved in the response to a data breach suffered by Ubiquiti Networks has claimed the incident was downplayed and could be described as "catastrophic."On January 11, the networking equipment and Internet of Things (IoT) devices provider began sending out informing them of a recent security breach.  The company said that someone had obtained "unauthorized access" to Ubiquiti systems hosted by a "third-party cloud provider," in which account information was stored for the ui.com web portal, a customer-facing device...

Apr 1
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Microsoft releases one-click mitigation tool for Exchange Server hacks | ZDNet

Microsoft releases one-click mitigation tool for Exchange Server hacks | ZDNet

Byfor| March 16, 2021 -- 08:41 GMT (01:41 PDT)| Topic:Microsoft has released a one-click mitigation tool as a stop-gap for IT admins who still need to apply security patches to protect their Exchange servers. Released , the tool is designed to mitigate the threat posed by four actively-exploited vulnerabilities that have collectively for organizations worldwide.  Microsoft released emergency fixes for the critical vulnerabilities on March 2. However, the company estimates that at least 82,000 internet-facing servers are still unpatched and vulnerable to attack.  The company previously...

Mar 16
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Sky Global CEO indicted over encrypted chat drug trafficking, calls allegations an 'outrage' | ZDNet

Sky Global CEO indicted over encrypted chat drug trafficking, calls allegations an 'outrage' | ZDNet

Byfor| March 15, 2021 -- 09:48 GMT (02:48 PDT)| Topic:The indicted chief executive of the Sky Global encrypted chat service has claimed that accusations of his participation in criminal activity are an attempt to erode "the fundamental right to privacy."On Friday, the US Department of Justice (DoJ) , filed in the Southern District of California, against Sky Global's CEO, Jean-Francois Eap, as well as a former distributor of Sky Global devices, Thomas Herdman. US prosecutors claim the pair "knowingly and intentionally participated" in a criminal ring that distributed narcotics by...

Mar 16
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Critical Zoom vulnerability triggers remote code execution without user input | ZDNet

Critical Zoom vulnerability triggers remote code execution without user input | ZDNet

Byfor| April 9, 2021 -- 10:15 GMT (03:15 PDT)| Topic:A zero-day vulnerability in Zoom which can be used to launch remote code execution (RCE) attacks has been disclosed by researchers. Pwn2Own, organized by the Zero Day Initiative, is a contest for white-hat cybersecurity professionals and teams to compete in the discovery of bugs in popular software and services.  The latest competition included 23 entries, competing in different categories including web browsers, virtualization software, servers, enterprise communication, and local escalation of privilege.  For successful entrants, the...

Apr 10
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
This botnet is abusing Bitcoin blockchains to stay in the shadows | ZDNet

This botnet is abusing Bitcoin blockchains to stay in the shadows | ZDNet

Byfor| February 24, 2021 -- 12:24 GMT (04:24 PST)| Topic:A botnet used for illicit cryptocurrency mining activities is abusing Bitcoin (BTC) transactions to stay under the radar. According to published by Akamai on Tuesday, the technique is being harnessed by operators of a long-running cryptocurrency mining botnet campaign, in which BTC blockchain transactions are being exploited to hide backup command-and-control (C2) server addresses. Botnets rely on C2 servers to receive commands from cyberattackers. Law enforcement and security teams are constantly finding and taking down these C2...

Feb 26
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Stored XSS bug in Apple iCloud domain disclosed by bug bounty hunter | ZDNet

Stored XSS bug in Apple iCloud domain disclosed by bug bounty hunter | ZDNet

Byfor| February 22, 2021 -- 12:03 GMT (04:03 PST)| Topic:A stored cross-site scripting (XSS) vulnerability in the iCloud domain has reportedly been patched by Apple. Bug bounty hunter and penetration tester Vishal Bharad claims to have discovered the security flaw, which is a stored XSS issue in icloud.com. Stored XSS vulnerabilities, also known as , can be used to store payloads on a target server, inject malicious scripts into websites, and potentially be used to steal cookies, session tokens, and browser data. According , the XSS flaw in icloud.com was found in the Page/Keynotes features...

Feb 23
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Zero-day vulnerabilities in SonicWall email security are being actively exploited | ZDNet

Zero-day vulnerabilities in SonicWall email security are being actively exploited | ZDNet

Byfor| April 21, 2021 -- 10:35 GMT (03:35 PDT)| Topic:SonicWall is urging customers to apply patches to resolve three zero-day vulnerabilities in its email security solution that are being actively exploited in the wild. In a on Tuesday, the US company said fixes have been published to resolve three critical issues impacting "hosted and on-premises email security products."SonicWall ES is a solution designed to protect email traffic and communication, such as by preventing phishing emails and business email compromise (BEC) attempts.  There is at least one known case of active exploitation...

Apr 23
Share
Save
Review
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%