Chris Duckett
Chris Duckett
CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews

RECENT ARTICLES

Sort by:
No Rating
Nvidia enters 'science-fiction metaverse' with Omniverse Enterprise for 3D collaboration | ZDNet

Nvidia enters 'science-fiction metaverse' with Omniverse Enterprise for 3D collaboration | ZDNet

By| April 12, 2021 -- 17:00 GMT (10:00 PDT)| Topic:Nvidia unveiled at GTC 2021 a new platform for 3D designers to collaborate and work on, Omniverse Enterprise.The subscription software has been labelled as a "killer app" by the company, is built on the Universal Scene Description (USD) framework from Pixar, and offers designers the ability to "work simultaneously in a virtual world from anywhere, on any device"."There's millions of freelancers in the world that use 3D packages, but they use multiple 3D packages, whether it's multiple 3D modelling packages, or 3D modelling and 3D painting,...

Apr 14
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Automating scam call blocking sees Telstra prevent up to 500,000 calls a day | ZDNet

Automating scam call blocking sees Telstra prevent up to 500,000 calls a day | ZDNet

By| February 16, 2021 -- 03:16 GMT (19:16 PST)| Topic:Telstra has said it is now blocking approximately 6.5 million suspected scam calls a month, at times up to 500,000 a day, thanks to automating the former manual process that sat at around 1 million monthly scam calls. The system that Telstra built in-house forms the third leg of its Cleaner Pipes program. In May, the company kicked off with to fight against botnets, trojans, and other types of malware, and extended to blocking purporting to be from myGov or Centrelink before they hit the phones of customers. "Scam calls are not only...

Feb 16
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
If Bing is the answer then Australia is asking the wrong question | ZDNet

If Bing is the answer then Australia is asking the wrong question | ZDNet

Byfor| February 7, 2021 -- 22:00 GMT (14:00 PST)| Topic:Australia looks set to become the sort of Microsoft monopoly that Redmond has only dreamt about, but rather than being in an area Microsoft is known for -- office suites, Windows, Surface products -- the country is turning to the eternal bridesmaid of search engines, . This is all a result of the Australian government, and opposition parties, lining up behind the that has been making its way through Parliament. If the code is finalised, it could in effect shift money directly out of the pockets of big tech and into the hands of the...

Feb 8
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Former Zoom PRC liaison wanted on harassment-related charges over disrupting Tienanmen remembrance calls | ZDNet

Former Zoom PRC liaison wanted on harassment-related charges over disrupting Tienanmen remembrance calls | ZDNet

By| December 21, 2020 -- 00:14 GMT (16:14 PST)| Topic:Zoom concedes custom encryption is substandard as Citizen Lab pokes holes in itThe United States Department of Justice (DoJ) unsealed a complaint and arrest warrant on Friday against Zoom's now-sacked liaison with the Chinese government, Xinjiang Jin. In his role at Zoom, Jin allegedly responded to requests from Beijing for information on users and meetings. He also allegedly ended meetings discussing topics that China found to be problematic. The DoJ said Jin handed information including names, email addresses, and IP addresses of...

December 22, 2020
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Washington aims Clean Network program directly at stopping China and Huawei | ZDNet

Washington aims Clean Network program directly at stopping China and Huawei | ZDNet

By| August 6, 2020 -- 04:43 GMT (21:43 PDT)| Topic:United States Secretary of State Mike Pompeo on Wednesday the extension of Washington's 5G Clean Path program to encompass carriers, app stores, cloud computing, and subsea cables under the Clean Network umbrella. Pompeo said the extension was needed to guard against "aggressive intrusions" by the Chinese Communist Party, and called other nations to create a "Clean fortress" around citizen's data. Under the Clean Carrier label, the United States will seek to ensure Chinese carriers aren't connected to US telco networks. "Such companies pose...

August 6, 2020
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Data breach confirmed by 500px with 'partial user data' hit | ZDNet

Data breach confirmed by 500px with 'partial user data' hit | ZDNet

Users of the photography site 500px will need to reset their passwords, following a breach where an attacker was able to take "partial user data" from July 5 last year.According to a by the company, the data types hit include usernames, first and last names, email address, password hash, date of birth, address information, and gender. "If you were a 500px user on or prior to July 5, 2018, you have been affected," the company said. "We've concluded this issue affected certain information that users provided when filling out their user profiles." 500px said it learned of the issue on February...

February 13, 2019
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Verizon Australia sees 2019 revenue up while profit slides | ZDNet

Verizon Australia sees 2019 revenue up while profit slides | ZDNet

By| May 15, 2020 -- 05:08 GMT (22:08 PDT)| Topic:Verizon Australia has reported its 2019 full year to December 31, with revenue up, but higher expenses and not winning the foreign exchange lottery, resulting in the company posting a lower profit for the year. The company said over 2019 it received AU$167 million in revenue, made up of AU$107 million from services, AU$3 million from the sale of goods, and AU$56.7 million in global network support. For the year prior, the company reported AU$154 million in revenue, and AU$104 million, AU$2.3 million, and AU$48 million across the same three...

May 15, 2020
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
US poll says only 1 in 4 Republican voters disbelieve Bill Gates coronavirus conspiracy | ZDNet

US poll says only 1 in 4 Republican voters disbelieve Bill Gates coronavirus conspiracy | ZDNet

By| May 25, 2020 -- 01:41 GMT (18:41 PDT)| Topic:If you thought having one in eight Australians such as 5G and Bill Gates being involved in the transmission and creation of was bad, just wait until you meet the American public. In response to a conducted on Wednesday and Thursday of last week, sentiment blaming Gates sat in a range between 12% and 50% depending on the cohort chosen. Most likely to answer positively to the question "Bill Gates wants to use a mass vaccination campaign against COVID-19 to implant microchips in people that would be used to track people with a digital ID" were...

May 25, 2020
Share
Save
Review
  • Total 8 items
  • 1
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%