Daphne Leprince
Daphne Leprince
CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
RECENT ARTICLES
gold-cheese75%
Evil AI: These are the 20 most dangerous crimes that artificial intelligence will create | ZDNet

Evil AI: These are the 20 most dangerous crimes that artificial intelligence will create | ZDNet

By| August 5, 2020 -- 15:51 GMT (08:51 PDT)| Topic:Can AI for war be ethical?From targeted phishing campaigns to new stalking methods: there are plenty of ways that artificial intelligence could be used to cause harm if it fell into the wrong hands. A team of researchers decided to rank the potential criminal applications that AI will have in the next 15 years, starting with those we should worry the most about. At the top of the list of most serious threats? Deepfakes. By using fake audio and video to impersonate another person, the technology can cause various types of harms, said the...

zdnet.com
Daphne Leprince
Aug 5
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
The ultimate in working from home: Amazon's engineers are building robots in their garages | ZDNet

The ultimate in working from home: Amazon's engineers are building robots in their garages | ZDNet

By| August 4, 2020 -- 13:55 GMT (06:55 PDT)| Topic:Amazon to launch $2 billion fund to invest in sustainable technologyThe next generation of Amazon's Scout bots – the fully-electric autonomous delivery devices the company is hoping to deploy soon – is currently being designed and built by a team of mechanical engineers in Seattle, and not in the most orthodox of settings.Instead of working in sleek labs, Amazon's engineers have effectively resorted to to accommodate the development of the sophisticated piece of technology the Scout bot is promising to be. The cooler-sized bot is already...

zdnet.com
Daphne Leprince
Aug 4
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
A student has rebuilt the machine that first cracked German Enigma codes | ZDNet

A student has rebuilt the machine that first cracked German Enigma codes | ZDNet

By| July 16, 2020 -- 15:08 GMT (08:08 PDT)| Topic:NI CEO Eric Starkloff on how engineers will get the spotlight like developers doA masters' student at the University of Cambridge, Hal Evans, has successfully built the first fully functioning replica of a cyclometer – a machine built in the early 1930s by Polish mathematicians to help decipher secret messages sent by the Germans via Enigma machines. About the same size as a very big laptop, but much heavier, with ten-kilograms worth of wires, switches and rotors, the 21st century version of the cyclometer is currently sitting in the living...

zdnet.com
Daphne Leprince
Jul 16
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
5G, video links and virtual consultations: The wireless future of healthcare | ZDNet

5G, video links and virtual consultations: The wireless future of healthcare | ZDNet

By| June 23, 2020 -- 09:47 GMT (02:47 PDT)| Topic:The convergence of telemedicine, personal health tech, and AIWhile most GP practices have switched to telephone consultations to keep in line with social-distancing rules amid the COVID-19 pandemic, an NHS Trust in Birmingham is going one step further and delivering specialist consultations at a distance, complete with digital stethoscopes, remote ultrasound scans, and even ECGs.The University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust (UHB) is using a 4G/5G network provided by BT that lets clinicians use diagnostic devices remotely to treat...

zdnet.com
Daphne Leprince
Jun 23
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
The world's first contact-tracing app using Google and Apple's API goes live | ZDNet

The world's first contact-tracing app using Google and Apple's API goes live | ZDNet

By| May 28, 2020 -- 09:43 GMT (02:43 PDT)| Topic:Contact tracing: COVID-19 panacea or privacy nightmare?24:06The world's first contact-tracing app built on the backbone of the API jointly developed by Google and Apple has launched as a large-scale pilot in Switzerland. Dubbed SwissCovid, the tool can now be downloaded by several thousand users that have been designated as belonging to "pilot populations", which include the army and some hospital workers.SwissCovid is designed to quickly track and warn users who have been in prolonged contact with somebody who has tested positive for the...

zdnet.com
Daphne Leprince
May 28
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Supercomputer simulates the impact of the asteroid that wiped out dinosaurs | ZDNet

Supercomputer simulates the impact of the asteroid that wiped out dinosaurs | ZDNet

By| May 26, 2020 -- 15:45 GMT (08:45 PDT)| Topic:Supercomputer will help create the next generation of AI1:09Some 66 million years ago, an asteroid hit the Earth on the eastern coast of modern Mexico, resulting in up to three quarters of plant and animal species living on the planet going extinct -- including the dinosaurs. Now, a team of researchers equipped with a supercomputer have managed to simulate the entire event, shedding light on the reasons that the impact led to a mass extinction of life. The simulations were carried out by scientists at Imperial College in London, using high...

zdnet.com
Daphne Leprince
May 26
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
AR and VR should be booming. So why aren't we interested? | ZDNet

AR and VR should be booming. So why aren't we interested? | ZDNet

By| April 28, 2020 -- 10:15 GMT (03:15 PDT)| Topic:The is forcing entire populations to stay confined at home, forcing them to find new ways to work and socialize. Seen through the eyes (or rather, lens) of companies that produce headsets and software designed to allow users to be transported to someplace else, for the social distancing required by the coronavirus sounds more like an opportunity to show what they can do to help, than a looming threat to their businesses.Certainly, many players in the mixed reality space are already jumping in to offer their services. In the UK, software...

zdnet.com
Daphne Leprince
Apr 28
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%