Larry Dignan
Larry Dignan
CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
RECENT ARTICLES
gold-cheese75%
IBM's Dinesh Nirmal: 'Every company is trying to automate their enterprise' | ZDNet

IBM's Dinesh Nirmal: 'Every company is trying to automate their enterprise' | ZDNet

Byfor| September 22, 2020 -- 18:00 GMT (11:00 PDT)| Topic:IBM's Dinesh Nirmal on hybrid cloud strategy and automationThe cloud computing race in 2020 will have a definite multi-cloud spin. Here's a look at how the cloud leaders stack up, the hybrid market, and the SaaS players that run your company as well as their latest strategic moves.IBM hybrid cloud efforts revolve around a hefty dose of automation, an API ecosystem and using to bridge clouds and applications.Dinesh Nirmal, general manager of IBM Cloud Integration, outlined the strategy and landscape in a conversation with ZDNet. Here...

zdnet.com
Larry Dignan
2d ago
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Intel engineering chief out after 7nm product delays | ZDNet

Intel engineering chief out after 7nm product delays | ZDNet

Byfor| July 27, 2020 -- 22:25 GMT (15:25 PDT)| Topic:Intel is revamping its technology leadership in a bid to turnaround its manufacturing unit after announcing delays in its 7nm processes. Last week, Intel said on its second quarter earnings report that . Rival AMD is already on 7nm as is TSMC. Since Intel's earnings report and market cap hit, analysts have been speculating that the chip giant may leave manufacturing. In other words, . Under Monday's reorg, Dr. Ann Kelleher will lead technology development. She had led Intel manufacturing. Kelleher will focus on developing 7nm and 5nm...

zdnet.com
Larry Dignan
Jul 27
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Apple confirms Mac to Arm with Microsoft and Adobe on board; MacOS will look more like iOS | ZDNet

Apple confirms Mac to Arm with Microsoft and Adobe on board; MacOS will look more like iOS | ZDNet

Byfor| June 22, 2020 -- 18:49 GMT (11:49 PDT)| Topic:Apple confirmed it is moving the Mac to the Arm architecture amid a big software design overhaul that brings MacOS, iOS, and iPadOS together in both look and feel.At , Apple laid out a roadmap that started with operating systems and went into hardware and processors. Going forward, Apple's design language across devices and operating systems will be more consistent -- as will the hardware that powers them.The company also outlined a case that revolves around innovation and an easy transition. MacOS native apps already work with Apple...

zdnet.com
Larry Dignan
Jun 22
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Verizon's data breach report highlights how unsecured cloud storage opens door to attacks | ZDNet

Verizon's data breach report highlights how unsecured cloud storage opens door to attacks | ZDNet

Byfor| May 19, 2020 -- 04:01 GMT (21:01 PDT)| Topic:The plague of enterprises leaving cloud storage holding private data unprotected is starting to show up in the security statistics and is one of the few attacks on the rise, according to the Verizon Data Breach Investigation Report for 2020.That reality is both good and bad, said Gabe Bassett, senior information security data scientist at Verizon Enterprise. The bad news is that misconfiguration errors still exist. The good news is that companies are reporting these breaches more and quantifying the issue. "I don't think it is a case of...

zdnet.com
Larry Dignan
May 19
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
HP launches Chromebook trio, thin client and ThinGo USB stick for remote work | ZDNet

HP launches Chromebook trio, thin client and ThinGo USB stick for remote work | ZDNet

Byfor| May 5, 2020 -- 12:00 GMT (05:00 PDT)| Topic:Most every organization has been thrust into the future of work faster than prognosticators dared imagine. What will determine failure or success in this brave new world of work?HP launched a series of enterprise Chromebooks that up the design ante as well as a new thin client and USB stick called ThinPro Go that packs a virtual workspace into any PC. The upshot: HP is positioning for the new normal of work that will include a heavy dose of remote workers.With the move to remote work amid the COVID-19 pandemic, CFOs are indicating that many...

zdnet.com
Larry Dignan
May 5
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Cloudera Machine Learning MLOps suite generally available as it aims to manage models, analytics | ZDNet

Cloudera Machine Learning MLOps suite generally available as it aims to manage models, analytics | ZDNet

Byfor| May 6, 2020 -- 13:00 GMT (06:00 PDT)| Topic:Cloudera is betting that it can fuel future growth by becoming critical to deploying, managing and governing machine learning models across enterprises and industries.The company said its Cloudera Machine Learning MLOps suite is now generally available. The effort goes along with its Cloudera Data Platform (CDP) and plays into the company's plan to become more than a Hadoop distribution player. Cloudera merged with Hortonworks last year and set a strategy to manage analytics workloads. The general theory is that Cloudera can be a single...

zdnet.com
Larry Dignan
May 6
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
CFOs looking to make remote work, telecommuting more permanent following COVID-19, says Gartner survey | ZDNet

CFOs looking to make remote work, telecommuting more permanent following COVID-19, says Gartner survey | ZDNet

Byfor| April 6, 2020 -- 10:00 GMT (03:00 PDT)| Topic:From Fortune 500 enterprises to very small businesses, most every organization has been thrust into the future of work faster than prognosticators dared dream. What factors will determine failure or success in this brave new world of work?The new normal telecommuting may be a bit more permanent than realized, as 74% of CFOs say they expect to move previously on-site employees remote post-COVID-19, according to a Gartner survey., which had 317 CFO respondents on March 30, highlighted how remote work may become more of the norm as companies...

zdnet.com
Larry Dignan
Apr 6
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%