CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews

RECENT ARTICLES

Sort by:
No Rating
Problem with Google Maps? Now it's easier for you to update it yourself | ZDNet

Problem with Google Maps? Now it's easier for you to update it yourself | ZDNet

By| March 12, 2021 -- 12:29 GMT (04:29 PST)| Topic:Google is making it easier to add details from photos to reviews or even missing roads to its mapping app."Add missing roads by drawing lines, quickly rename roads, change road directionality, and realign or delete incorrect roads. You can even let us know if a road is closed with details like dates, reasons and directions," .Users can tap the menu button and "Edit the map" and then select "Missing Road" to add a new information.SEE: (TechRepublic)This feature could be abused by pranksters but Google promises to vet all road updates before...

Mar 14
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Microsoft Exchange attacks: Watch out for this new ransomware threat to unpatched servers | ZDNet

Microsoft Exchange attacks: Watch out for this new ransomware threat to unpatched servers | ZDNet

By| March 12, 2021 -- 09:42 GMT (01:42 PST)| Topic:Microsoft has issued an alert that hackers using a strain of ransomware known as DearCry are now targeting unpatched Exchange servers still exposed to four vulnerabilities that were being exploited by suspected Chinese government hackers.Microsoft is warning Exchange customers once again to apply the emergency patches it released last week for critical flaws affecting on-premise Exchange email servers. Microsoft urged customers on due to the risk that more cybercriminals and state-backed hackers would exploit the flaws in coming weeks and...

Mar 12
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Windows 10 taskbar: 'News and Interests' might vanish for some users, at least for now | ZDNet

Windows 10 taskbar: 'News and Interests' might vanish for some users, at least for now | ZDNet

By| March 11, 2021 -- 10:51 GMT (02:51 PST)| Topic:Microsoft has been giving many of its Windows Insiders a taste of the new 'news and interests' feature in the taskbarand and has been regularly tweaking the widget in Windows 10 previews. But now the company says the Taskbar widget may disappear for some testers who had it. For the past two months, Microsoft has been testing the Taskbar widget with Windows 10 users in the Windows Insider Dev channel and its developers reckon they have the right formula for it: the feature will have two columns showcasing news, weather, money and...

Mar 12
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Microsoft Exchange zero-day attacks: 30,000 servers hit already, says report | ZDNet

Microsoft Exchange zero-day attacks: 30,000 servers hit already, says report | ZDNet

By| March 8, 2021 -- 11:53 GMT (03:53 PST)| Topic:Four previously unknown or 'zero-day' vulnerabilities in Microsoft Exchange Server are now being used in widespread attacks against thousands of organisations with potentially tens of thousands of organisations affected, according to security researchers. The bugs are being tracked as CVE-2021-26855, CVE-2021-26857, CVE-2021-26858, and CVE-2021-27065. Microsoft, which , attributed the attacks to a newly discovered hacking team it calls Hafnium, most likely a China-backed group. Microsoft said they were "limited targeted attacks" but warned...

Mar 9
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Flutter 2: Google's toolkit for developers takes a big step forward | ZDNet

Flutter 2: Google's toolkit for developers takes a big step forward | ZDNet

By| March 4, 2021 -- 07:14 GMT (23:14 PST)| Topic:Google has announced Flutter 2, a major upgrade to its framework for building user interfaces for mobile, the web and desktop.  Flutter promises to allow developers to use the same codebase to build native apps for iOS, Android, Windows 10, macOS, and Linux and for the web on browsers including Chrome, Firefox, Safari or Edge. It can also be embedded in an IoT device with a screen, such as cars, TVs, and home appliances. Google launched Flutter in 2018 for Android and iOS mobile apps but . However, the desktop side of Flutter has remained an...

Mar 6
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Google's Pixel phones: Here are the latest updates coming your way | ZDNet

Google's Pixel phones: Here are the latest updates coming your way | ZDNet

By| March 2, 2021 -- 10:40 GMT (02:40 PST)| Topic:Google has announced the latest quarterly feature update for Pixel phones with a new recording experience that makes sharing audio easier, a way to use the Pixel Camera underwater, new wallpapers and Smart Compose updates. The Recorder app for Pixel can be used to record, transcribe English, and search audio files and the latest update makes it easier to share links to these files. There's also a new website , where users can hear recordings, see transcripts and search through files.When users edit a transcript, audio now automatically...

Mar 3
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Google: Bad bots are on the attack, and your defence plan is probably wrong | ZDNet

Google: Bad bots are on the attack, and your defence plan is probably wrong | ZDNet

By| March 1, 2021 -- 14:47 GMT (06:47 PST)| Topic:Google is warning that bots are causing more problems for business -- but many companies are only focused on the most obvious attacks. At the outset of the Microsoft chief Satya Nadella "two years' worth of digital transformation in two months." Google now sees that attackers have adapted to these changed conditions and are boosting attacks on newly online businesses, with bots high on the list of tools used.  Bot attacks can cover anything from web scraping where bots are used to gather content or data, to bots that try to beat Captchas, to...

Mar 2
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Elon Musk: SpaceX Starlink satellite broadband speeds will double this year | ZDNet

Elon Musk: SpaceX Starlink satellite broadband speeds will double this year | ZDNet

By| February 23, 2021 -- 10:02 GMT (02:02 PST)| Topic:SpaceX's satellite broadband service Starlink will begin delivering download speeds of 300 Mbps, or double the top speeds users can currently get on the beta service, at some point this year, according to its CEO Elon Musk.The Starlink beta is advertised as having data speeds that vary from 50Mb/s to 150Mb/s and latency from 20ms to 40ms. It's targeted at regional areas with poor coverage. Since October it's been charging a .  ZDNet  that SpaceX CEO Elon Musk has now said that Starlink will double the available speeds within the next...

Feb 23
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Microsoft: SolarWinds attack took more than 1,000 engineers to create | ZDNet

Microsoft: SolarWinds attack took more than 1,000 engineers to create | ZDNet

By| February 15, 2021 -- 15:02 GMT (07:02 PST)| Topic:The months-long hacking campaign that affected US government agencies and cybersecurity vendors was "the largest and most sophisticated attack the world has ever seen," Microsoft president Brad Smith has said, and involved a vast number of developers. The attack, , may have impacted as many as 18,000 organizations as a result of the Sunburst (or Solorigate) malware planted inside SolarWinds's Orion network management software.    "I think from a software engineering perspective, it's probably fair to say that this is the largest and most...

Feb 16
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Chrome can now live-caption audio and video, online or offline | ZDNet

Chrome can now live-caption audio and video, online or offline | ZDNet

By| March 19, 2021 -- 09:54 GMT (02:54 PDT)| Topic:Google's Chrome browser has gained the ability to generate real-time captions, allowing users to view captions on pretty much any video or audio content, whether it's on the web or stored on a local hard drive. Live Captions is technically an accessibility feature and should come in handy for anyone with hearing difficulties. But a lot of people also just like reading what's being said on a video.The live captioning feature has been available on devices like .SEE: (TechRepublic Premium)Google says real-time captions can be generated for...

Mar 20
Share
Save
Review
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%