Mary Jo Foley
Mary Jo Foley
CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
RECENT ARTICLES
gold-cheese75%
How Microsoft is looking to MetaOS to make Microsoft 365 a 'whole life' experience | ZDNet

How Microsoft is looking to MetaOS to make Microsoft 365 a 'whole life' experience | ZDNet

Byfor| September 15, 2020 -- 19:07 GMT (12:07 PDT)| Topic:Earlier this year, some leaks about had a lot of us Microsoft watchers scrambling to figure out what this foundational layer is and how it will affect Microsoft's various products and services in the future. Recently, I've unearthed some more details about the company's high-level goals and lower-level product plans around MetaOS. Also: MetaOS has a lot to do with what's next for Microsoft Teams, Office, Edge, and more. I don't know when or if Microsoft will ever talk about MetaOS publicly, but MetaOS and the related Taos team,...

zdnet.com
Mary Jo Foley
Sep 17
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Would a Microsoft TikTok acquisition be anything less than completely crazy? | ZDNet

Would a Microsoft TikTok acquisition be anything less than completely crazy? | ZDNet

Byfor| July 31, 2020 -- 19:39 GMT (12:39 PDT)| Topic:Bloomberg is reporting that President Donald Trump is planning to order Trump and other politicians have claimed TikTok may be a conduit for the Chinese government to spy on or meddle with US citizens. One of the companies said to be kicking the TikTok tires, according to various reports, is Microsoft. First things first: Microsoft does due diligence on lots and lots of tech properties when they're for sale or soon to be for sale. That doesn't mean the Redmondians end up buying many/most of them. See Salesforce, Slack, Yahoo, and more for...

zdnet.com
Mary Jo Foley
Jul 31
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Microsoft buys IoT security firm CyberX | ZDNet

Microsoft buys IoT security firm CyberX | ZDNet

Byfor| June 22, 2020 -- 13:35 GMT (06:35 PDT)| Topic: for an undisclosed amount, the two companies announced on June 22. Microsoft plans to integrate CyberX's products and technologies with its existing set of IoT security products, officials said. allows customers to see their existing IoT assets so they can manage and better secure those devices, officials said. CyberX's technology will allow users to see digital maps of thousands of devices across a factory floor or within a building, for example, so they can monitor their security state and connectivity, officials said. Microsoft...

zdnet.com
Mary Jo Foley
Jun 22
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Microsoft goes public with more of its Azure capacity improvement plans | ZDNet

Microsoft goes public with more of its Azure capacity improvement plans | ZDNet

Byfor| June 16, 2020 -- 19:11 GMT (12:11 PDT)| Topic:The cloud computing race in 2020 will have a definite multi-cloud spin. Here's a look at how the cloud leaders stack up, the hybrid market, and the SaaS players that run your company as well as their latest strategic moves.Microsoft officials have been providing since the start of the global pandemic. On June 16, Microsoft shared some , including some information on how it has been endeavoring to shore up its Azure-based Teams service as demand grew sharply starting this spring. Officials had already talked about . They had shared details...

zdnet.com
Mary Jo Foley
Jun 16
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%