Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols, aka sjvn, has been writing about technology and the business of technology since CP/M-80 was the cutting edge, PC operating system; 300bps was a fast Internet connection; WordStar was the state of the art word processor; and we liked it.His work has been published in everything from highly technical publications (IEEE Computer, ACM NetWorker, Byte) to business publications (eWEEK, InformationWeek, ZDNet) to popular technology (Computer Shopper, PC Magazine, PC World) to the mainstream press (Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, BusinessWeek).Source
Asheville, NC
CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
RECENT ARTICLES
gold-cheese75%
Google expects its staff to work from home until 2021 and it's not alone

Google expects its staff to work from home until 2021 and it's not alone

So, you expect life and work to be back to normal soon? Google and many other companies don't. According to a Bloomberg report, Sundar Pichai, Google's CEO, told Google employees on Thursday to be ready to work remotely through October and possibly to the end of the year. Actually, a Google spokeswoman said most Google workers are expected to work from home until 2021. So, life's going back to normal? Not at this tech giant. Most every organization has been thrust into the future of work faster than prognosticators dared imagine. What will determine failure or success in this brave new...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
May 8
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Abby Kearns takes over as Puppet CTO | ZDNet

Abby Kearns takes over as Puppet CTO | ZDNet

Byfor| April 30, 2020 -- 18:37 GMT (11:37 PDT)| Topic:After more than a decade as the head of the popular open-source, Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) cloud , Abby Kearns is now the CTO of top program .  in the capable hands of Chip Childers. At Puppet, Kearns will oversee Puppet's product growth and help its product portfolio evolve. Part of that involves getting Puppet to deliver on the promise of helping enterprises modernize and manage their infrastructure -- and, based on earlier comments by Puppet CEO Yvonne Wassenaar, making . Kearns is ideally suited for this job.Deepak Giridharagopal...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Apr 30
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Ubuntu 20.04 arrives with Linux 5.4 kernel and WireGuard VPN | ZDNet

Ubuntu 20.04 arrives with Linux 5.4 kernel and WireGuard VPN | ZDNet

Byfor| April 23, 2020 -- 18:51 GMT (11:51 PDT)| Topic:As expected,  has released the newest version of its distribution, . This long-term-support (LTS) version is more than just the latest version of one of the most popular Linux distributions; it's a major update for desktop, server, and cloud users.Whether you're in the office or on the road, a VPN is still one of the best ways to protect yourself on the big, bad internet.Let's start with the core operating system. Here, you'll find Ubuntu 20.04, aka Focal Fossa, is now based on November 2019's . This kernel includes significant new...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Apr 23
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
NordVPN unveils first mainstream WireGuard virtual private network | ZDNet

NordVPN unveils first mainstream WireGuard virtual private network | ZDNet

By| April 22, 2020 -- 17:58 GMT (10:58 PDT)| Topic:One account, six devices. Protect yourself, your friends, or household without buying multiple accounts.I predicted , a revolutionary open-source approach to Virtual Private Networks (VPN), would . It's happening. One of the largest of the mainstream VPN companies, NordVPN, is rolling it out in . Why? 's own tests have shown NordLynx easily outperforms the other protocols,  and .Also: How much faster? According to NordVPN's 256,886 speed tests, "When a user connects to a nearby VPN server and downloads content that's served from a content...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Apr 22
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Linux Foundation backs security-oriented seL4 microkernel operating system | ZDNet

Linux Foundation backs security-oriented seL4 microkernel operating system | ZDNet

Byfor| April 7, 2020 -- 19:59 GMT (12:59 PDT)| Topic:First thing's first: Yes, the is working with  -- the digital specialist arm for Australia's national science agency,  -- to push forward the new security-first operating system kernel . But seL4 is not related to Linux. However, SeL4 can be used, in theory, as a foundation for Linux and other Unix related operating systems. For example, it was briefly considered for use in Richard M. Stallman's still-born . Now, with its latest edition and broader support, seL4 may be more broadly deployed. This kernel is a member of the SeL4 is a...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Apr 7
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
DOJ urges FCC to revoke China Telecom's license | ZDNet

DOJ urges FCC to revoke China Telecom's license | ZDNet

Byfor| April 9, 2020 -- 21:12 GMT (14:12 PDT)| Topic:The is asking the to services to and from the US. The DoJ is doing this on behalf of President Donald Trump's new . This group includes the Attorney General and the Secretaries of Homeland Security and Defense. It's informally known as Team Telecom. It supervises foreign telecom FCC licenses. Attorney General William P. Barr explained: "This is a national security and public safety issue. That's why the cannot undermine the networks our country depends on." Two days later, Barr asked the FCC to kick China Telecom out of the US. Barr is...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Apr 9
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Cloud Foundry sees top leadership change | ZDNet

Cloud Foundry sees top leadership change | ZDNet

Byfor| April 8, 2020 -- 13:41 GMT (06:41 PDT)| Topic:For over a decade, Abby Kearns has been the face of the popular open-source, Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) cloud, . First as the project manager for and then as the 's executive director. Now, Kearns' moving on to another executive position, and CTO Chip Childers has assumed her role as executive director.The cloud computing race in 2020 will have a definite multi-cloud spin. Here's a look at how the cloud leaders stack up, the hybrid market, and the SaaS players that run your company as well as their latest strategic moves.Childers brings...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Apr 8
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
How Red Hat tackles security | ZDNet

How Red Hat tackles security | ZDNet

Byfor| March 16, 2020 -- 13:42 GMT (06:42 PDT)| Topic:historically has had the best record of all the Linux companies in finding and fixing Linux and open-source security bugs. Here's how the Raleigh, NC-based company does it.First, is in charge of both finding and fixing security holes. It doesn't do this alone. The team works with other Linux and open-source companies and developers. Security in the Linux world isn't done in secret, but with the full cooperation of all involved programmers.  The security team is also a member of the . It uses the industry-standard for each vulnerability...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Mar 16
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
How open-source software is tackling COVID-19 coronavirus | ZDNet

How open-source software is tackling COVID-19 coronavirus | ZDNet

Byfor| March 17, 2020 -- 13:51 GMT (06:51 PDT)| Topic:In Linux and open-source circles, we're fond of saying we've changed the world. And, well, we have changed the world. But, now, we, along with everyone else, face a new challenge: Here are some of the open-source projects taking on the coronavirus.From cancelled conferences to disrupted supply chains, not a corner of the global economy is immune to the spread of COVID-19.One of the biggest problems we face is how to plan and deal with the sheer number of patients that our hospitals will shortly have coming their way. This project, from...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Mar 17
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
NO RATING
Come on, Microsoft! Is it really that hard to update Windows 10 right?

Come on, Microsoft! Is it really that hard to update Windows 10 right?

Welcome! Here are the latest Insider stories.×CloseYesterday, on Patch Tuesday, as I was finishing up the column that follows lamenting the sorry state of Windows 10 patches and providing copious examples of things gone very wrong, a big, fat example landed in my lap (but happily not in my laptop). Word emerged that Microsoft had accidentally leaked news about a new , a.k.a. . The leak also said that this bug wasn’t patched in that day’s releases.I’ll get back to this latest outrage, but first, let’s review the past several months.I’ve written a lot about Microsoft’s Windows 10 patch...

computerworld.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Mar 11
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Coronavirus really is that bad and you should work from home | ZDNet

Coronavirus really is that bad and you should work from home | ZDNet

Byfor| March 6, 2020 -- 19:57 GMT (11:57 PST)| Topic:You can't get the news anywhere now without hearing about how left and right and companies, like Amazon, Facebook, Google, Microsoft and many others are telling employees in the Seattle area to work from home. Is the coronavirus really that bad? Do all the shut-downs and community quarantines, when we don't use these for flu outbreaks, really make sense? Is this all hype and panic? The answers are: Yes, it really is that bad. Yes, staying away from large group gatherings makes sense. And, no, this isn't hype and panic.From cancelled...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Mar 10
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
What's the most popular web browser in 2020? | ZDNet

What's the most popular web browser in 2020? | ZDNet

By| March 2, 2020 -- 20:37 GMT (12:37 PST)| Topic:For ages, it was almost impossible to get hard data on which were the most popular web browsers. Sure, many companies claimed to have good information, such as and , but their numbers were massaged. The US federal government's , however, gives us a . While it doesn't tell us about global web browser use, it's the best information we have about American web browser users. And so, in early March 2020, we know that the top web browser for the last three months -- with 4.02 billion visits counted -- was, drum-roll please, . While not as dominant...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Mar 3
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Linux is ready for the end of time | ZDNet

Linux is ready for the end of time | ZDNet

Byfor| February 13, 2020 -- 14:02 GMT (06:02 PST)| Topic:On 03:14:08 Greenwich Mean Time (GMT, aka Coordinated Universal Time) January 19, 2038 (that's a Tuesday), the world ends. Well, not in the biblical Book of Revelations sense. But, what will happen is the value for time in 32-bit based Unix-based operating systems, like Linux and older versions of macOS, runs out of numbers and starts counting time with negative numbers. That's not good.  We can expect 32-bit computers running these operating systems to have fits. Fortunately, Linux's developers already had a fix ready to go. The...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Feb 17
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Apple joins FIDO Alliance, commits to getting rid of passwords | ZDNet

Apple joins FIDO Alliance, commits to getting rid of passwords | ZDNet

Byfor| February 12, 2020 -- 13:54 GMT (05:54 PST)| Topic:We all use passwords. We also all suck at using them. 81% of all hacking-based . So, it is that the has been seeking to replace password-only logins with secure and fast login experiences across websites and apps using the emerging standard Their efforts have been supported by nearly all major technology and e-commerce companies with one major exception: Apple. Now, Apple has joined FIDO." and companies have been trying to kill them off for years," said Merritt Maxim, principal security analyst in a CNBC interview. WebAuth, is a...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Feb 13
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
South Korea's government explores move from Windows to Linux desktop | ZDNet

South Korea's government explores move from Windows to Linux desktop | ZDNet

Byfor| February 10, 2020 -- 16:25 GMT (08:25 PST)| Topic:With , some institutions are finally giving up on Windows entirely. The biggest of these may be the South Korean government. In May 2019, South Korea's Interior Ministry announced plans to look into . It must have liked what it saw. According to the Korean news site , the South Korean Ministry of Strategy and Planning has announced the government is exploring moving most of its approximately . The reason for this is simple. It's to reduce software licensing costs and the government's reliance on Windows. As Choi Jang-hyuk, the head of...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Feb 11
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Amazon demands Trump testify about the JEDI contract | ZDNet

Amazon demands Trump testify about the JEDI contract | ZDNet

Byfor| February 10, 2020 -- 21:09 GMT (13:09 PST)| Topic:When the US Department of Defense awarded contract, it wasn't if would sue to overturn the massive government contract, it was when. A few weeks later, AWS sued to overturn the award. Now, AWS has upped the ante. The company is deposing President Donald Trump, Defense Secretary Mark Esperm, former Defense Secretary James Mattis, and four others. There's nothing surprising about AWS appealing the decision. and . So far, so normal in federal government contracting circles. Almost all major government contracts are appealed. It's part of...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Feb 11
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
OUTLETS
computerworld.com

computerworld.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%