Steven J. Vaughan
Steven J. Vaughan
CRITIC
N/A
No Rating
0 reviews
PUBLIC
N/A
No Rating
0 reviews
RECENT ARTICLES
gold-cheese75%
Uniting for better open-source security: The Open Source Security Foundation | ZDNet

Uniting for better open-source security: The Open Source Security Foundation | ZDNet

Byfor| August 3, 2020 -- 18:48 GMT (11:48 PDT)| Topic:Eric S. Raymond, one of open-source's founders, famously said, "" which he called "Linus's Law." That's true. It's one of the reasons why open-source has become the way almost everyone develops software today. That said, it doesn't go far enough. You need expert eyes hunting and fixing bugs and you need coordination to make sure you're not duplicating work.    So, it is more than past time that started the . This cross-industry group brings together open-source leaders by building a broader security community. It combines efforts from...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
4d ago
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
What's Windows 10's fastest web browser in 2020? | ZDNet

What's Windows 10's fastest web browser in 2020? | ZDNet

Byfor| August 3, 2020 -- 17:50 GMT (10:50 PDT)| Topic:The single most important program on pretty much everyone's PC these days is the web browser. Indeed, show you can have a useful laptop with only a web browser. But which Windows 10 web browser is the fastest of them all? I put the to the test. Here are our contenders in popularity order. First comes , with its . Next up is , which recently . Believe it or not, Internet Explorer (IE) 11 is the next most popular Windows 10 web browser. But even on my , it was the worst of the worst. I took a quick look at it, and I decided between...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
4d ago
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Back to school: The 5 best Chromebooks for students | ZDNet

Back to school: The 5 best Chromebooks for students | ZDNet

By| July 31, 2020 -- 12:25 GMT (05:25 PDT)| Topic:Schools and children love Chromebooks. They're affordable, easy to manage, and easy to use. Can your kids use a web browser? Then they can use a Chromebook. Google also provides and to help schools make remote learning as simple as possible. While I looked primarily at higher-end machines, which are suitable for high-school and college students, you can get even more affordable Chromebooks from brand-name vendors. For example, you can get a decent Chromebook -- such as the , , or  -- for under $200. If you're short on cash, you can often...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jul 31
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Why the internet went haywire last week | ZDNet

Why the internet went haywire last week | ZDNet

Byfor| July 20, 2020 -- 11:54 GMT (04:54 PDT)| Topic:It was another end of the workweek; what could possibly go wrong? Sure, in the week and accounts, but surely nothing else could go awry? Right? Wrong. Bad things come in threes. Starting on Friday afternoon, , the major content delivery network (CDN) and Domain Name System (DNS) service, had a major DNS failure, and tens of millions users found their internet services failing. Whoops. At the time, there was concern that the US internet itself was under attack. The real problem was much more mundane. Cloudflare's technical support...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jul 20
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
The next generation of the Purism Linux laptop is on its way | ZDNet

The next generation of the Purism Linux laptop is on its way | ZDNet

By| July 13, 2020 -- 21:34 GMT (14:34 PDT)| Topic:What's holding the Linux desktop back?For most Linux desktop users who want a ready-to-run Linux laptop, I recommend the . I can also suggest or PCs or laptops for those who want top-of-the-line Linux hardware. But if privacy, security, and free software are at the top of your "Want" list, then you should check out , maker of free software and Linux-powered laptops, and its next-generation .This newest model, which is scheduled to ship in early Q4 2020, comes with the following hardware:It's default low-end configuration with 8GB of RAM and...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jul 13
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Google open sources trademarks with the Open Usage Commons | ZDNet

Google open sources trademarks with the Open Usage Commons | ZDNet

Byfor| July 8, 2020 -- 19:09 GMT (12:09 PDT)| Topic:Patent trolls cost $29B a yearGoogle has announced it is launching a new organization, , to host the trademarks for three of its most important new open-source projects. These are , a web application framework for mobile and desktop; , a web-based team code-collaboration tool; and , a popular open mesh platform to connect, manage, and secure microservices.While it only covers three Google projects, for now, OUC is meant to give . The organization will also assist with conformance testing, establishing mark usage guidelines, and handling...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jul 8
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
The 5 most over-hyped tech devices | ZDNet

The 5 most over-hyped tech devices | ZDNet

Byfor| July 6, 2020 -- 13:59 GMT (06:59 PDT)| Topic:I just noticed the  (sigh) and that many publications are labeling it the most over-hyped technology product of all time, which, of course, got me thinking. At my home in Asheville, we sometimes have tourists cruise by on Segways, and I always liked the two-wheeled self-balancing devices. OK, the Segway never changed the world, despite venture capitalist John Doerr predicting it would reach , and that it might be bigger than the internet. But there have been many over-hyped technologies. Let's look at some of these high-flying crashes. OK,...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jul 6
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Principled Technologies releases first true cloud performance benchmarks | ZDNet

Principled Technologies releases first true cloud performance benchmarks | ZDNet

Byfor| June 26, 2020 -- 14:15 GMT (07:15 PDT)| Topic:Microsoft reports a 775% increase in demand for cloud servicesWe all use the cloud, but measuring cloud performance is difficult. I should know. I've written benchmarks, and I using and other programs, which, frankly, weren't ideal for testing clouds. But now and the have released the, a free benchmark, which seeks to accurately measure Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS) cloud performance.  The beta CloudXPRT program includes web microservices and data analytics workloads. Testers can use metrics from both workloads to compare IaaS stack...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jun 26
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
ARM and Linux take the supercomputer TOP500 crown | ZDNet

ARM and Linux take the supercomputer TOP500 crown | ZDNet

Byfor| June 23, 2020 -- 16:47 GMT (09:47 PDT)| Topic:Supercomputing: Researchers simulate the extinction of the dinosaursFor years, x86 processors and . in the world. For just about as long, x86 CPUs have dominated supercomputers -- until now. On June 22, Japan's Fugaku supercomputer, powered by 's 48-core A64FX SoC and running , became the . In winning over the others, it wasn't even close. Fugaku turned in a result of 415.5 petaflops, besting the second-place system by a factor of 2.8x. Fujitsu has been working on creating ultra-high-speed silicon since it turned from the obsolete SPARC...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jun 23
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Apple approves Hey e-mail app, but the fight's not over yet | ZDNet

Apple approves Hey e-mail app, but the fight's not over yet | ZDNet

Byfor| June 22, 2020 -- 16:13 GMT (09:13 PDT)| Topic:What does Apple need to focus on in iOS 14?It's time once more for , that day when expects its tens-of-millions of fans to go gaga over its latest product releases. This time, though, there's some sour news in the air.  , , is having an ugly, public fight with Apple over how the iPhone giant manages its app store. True, at the 11th hour on Friday, June 19, , but the battle's not over yet. Basecamp CEO Jason Fried's blog starts on a pleasant note, declaring the decision to be "a win for Apple, a win for us, and a win for our customers."...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jun 22
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Was Microsoft in the 1990s really better than Apple in the 2020s? | ZDNet

Was Microsoft in the 1990s really better than Apple in the 2020s? | ZDNet

Byfor| June 19, 2020 -- 20:43 GMT (13:43 PDT)| Topic:The iPhone will weather the COVID-19 crisis just fineIn a classic case of the pot calling the kettle black, model. OK. So far, so good. Apple claims up to 30% from its app store vendors for every program they sell. It may not be extortion, but if you talk to iPhone independent software vendors (ISVs), they might use stronger language. Smith went on, "You're seeing and far more formidable gates to access to other applications than anything that existed in the industry [Windows] 20 years ago."Apple makes it harder on vendors today than...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jun 19
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Parallels and Google to bring full-featured Windows applications to Chrome Enterprise | ZDNet

Parallels and Google to bring full-featured Windows applications to Chrome Enterprise | ZDNet

Byfor| June 17, 2020 -- 14:29 GMT (07:29 PDT)| Topic:Ready to run Linux on Windows 10? Here’s howOur pick of the best Chromebooks for work, school, and home.You've long been able to run some Windows apps on , a beta program. And if you absolutely have to run Microsoft Office -- not  -- . But that still leaves out many Windows programs that don't run fully on Chromebooks or in the Chrome web browser. , a virtualization and remote access company, wants to change that with its .The company has partnered with Google to"bring enterprises and cloud workers full-featured Windows applications to...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jun 17
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
SpaceX Starlink internet prepares for beta users | ZDNet

SpaceX Starlink internet prepares for beta users | ZDNet

Byfor| June 15, 2020 -- 14:09 GMT (07:09 PDT)| Topic:Elon Musk readies space hook-up for ultra-fast InternetThese are ZDNet's top picks for Wi-Fi routers suitable for home offices and remote working.Sick of being stuck with low internet speeds out in the sticks? Want to free yourself from your low-quality rural cable, DSL, or -- you poor devil -- modem charges and speeds? is finally cracking open the door to its low-earth orbit (LEO) internet service. The June 13 launch carried 58 Starlink satellites into space. With this latest launch, there are now 540 Starlink satellites in orbit. ...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jun 15
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Best Linux Foundation classes: Introduction to Linux, Cloud Engineer Bootcamp, and more | ZDNet

Best Linux Foundation classes: Introduction to Linux, Cloud Engineer Bootcamp, and more | ZDNet

By| June 9, 2020 -- 17:56 GMT (10:56 PDT)| Topic:Before I started writing about technology, I was a Beltway Bandit. That is, I was an IT contractor working for NASA and the Department of Defense. In those days, my job skills were Unix and mainframe system administrator, database programming, e-mail, and network administration. I never lacked for a job. But that was in the 80s. Today, if you want a . And, what does the cloud use -- even Microsoft Azure? Linux and open-source. It's that simple.So, to land a job like that, you need to either learn or prove you have mad open-source developer...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jun 9
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
NextCloud gets bigger and better with Nextcloud Hub 19 | ZDNet

NextCloud gets bigger and better with Nextcloud Hub 19 | ZDNet

Byfor| June 4, 2020 -- 21:12 GMT (14:12 PDT)| Topic:Microsoft reports a 775% increase in demand for cloud services0:54I've used , a great open-source Infrastructure-as-a-Service (IaaS) cloud, for years on both my own on-premise and shared servers. It works well, it's simple to set up, and it does the main job of replacing such as , , and flawlessly. With this latest edition, is also adding improvements to its built-in, office Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) programs. Free and cheap personal and small business cloud storage services are everywhere. But, which one is best for you? Let's look at...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jun 4
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
From Earth to orbit with Linux and SpaceX | ZDNet

From Earth to orbit with Linux and SpaceX | ZDNet

Byfor| June 3, 2020 -- 12:30 GMT (05:30 PDT)| Topic:The rise of Elon Musk and SpaceX13:38Commentary: Please join our sister sites in fundraising to help address racism.In a terrible year, it was a great moment. On May 30, 's , the first private-manned spacecraft ever and the , successfully delivered NASA astronauts Bob Behnken and Doug Hurley into orbit. Taking them was SpaceX's reusable Falcon 9, powered by rocket fuel and Linux. Like supercomputers, Internet of Things (IoT) devices, and many mission-critical devices, the Falcon 9 flies with Linux. SpaceX's software engineers explained...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
Jun 3
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Keeping open-source groups alive: FOSS Responders | ZDNet

Keeping open-source groups alive: FOSS Responders | ZDNet

Byfor| May 22, 2020 -- 11:54 GMT (04:54 PDT)| Topic:Coronavirus: Remote working is just the start of the digital transformation process1:09Thanks to the , left and right. This, in turn, is damaging the finances of companies and groups that depend on these events. Some open-source groups, such as , can deal with it. Others aren't so fortunate. Some, such as , the , , and , are in real trouble. is trying to help these and other groups and individuals.  While open source powers billion-dollar businesses, many open-source projects operate on a shoestring budget. Groups such as , , and the try...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
May 22
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Check Point released an open-source fix for common Linux memory corruption security hole | ZDNet

Check Point released an open-source fix for common Linux memory corruption security hole | ZDNet

Byfor| May 21, 2020 -- 16:50 GMT (09:50 PDT)| Topic:How this hacking campaign has been exploiting unpatched Linux servers for almost a decade8:26For years, there's been a known security vulnerability hiding in the . This library, which is critical for Linux and many other operating systems and programs, had a dynamic memory management security hole that could be used for denial of service (DoS) attacks. Now, the security company, , has issued an , which will make it much more difficult to exploit this memory allocation () problem.Check Point re-encountered this known problem when it...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
May 21
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
2020 will be the year of Linux on the Windows desktop | ZDNet

2020 will be the year of Linux on the Windows desktop | ZDNet

Byfor| May 20, 2020 -- 12:26 GMT (05:26 PDT)| Topic:The wait is over: Wireguard VPN on its way into Linux0:51. Sure, the Linux desktop has long been a favorite of top-flight developers, system administrators, and loyal fans. But, when it comes to the mass audience, .  One major company, however, still believes in the Linux desktop: Microsoft. At , its virtual developers' conference, Microsoft CEO Satya Nadella announced that 2.0 would . Specifically, this will enable programmers to develop native and cross-platform programs with tools like GNOME Builder, KDevelop, and Emacs. Besides...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
May 20
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Google vs. Oracle: The next chapter | ZDNet

Google vs. Oracle: The next chapter | ZDNet

Byfor| May 12, 2020 -- 13:49 GMT (06:49 PDT)| Topic:Software patents would be great if they actually worked instead of just providing rich pickings for trolls, says Mike LeeTen years ago, , desperate to monetize its , sued to squeeze profits out of its use of Java APIs in Android. Oracle won its point -- that application programming interfaces (APIs) were subject to copyright. More recently, Google got the . But the , has been yet again delayed, but not because of the . University of South Carolina Intellectual property (IP) law professor Ned Snow pointed out the .  Specifically, Snow...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
May 12
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Best cloud storage services in 2020: Google Drive, OneDrive, Dropbox, and more | ZDNet

Best cloud storage services in 2020: Google Drive, OneDrive, Dropbox, and more | ZDNet

Byfor| May 7, 2020 -- 19:11 GMT (12:11 PDT)| Topic:In 2007, Drew Houston, Dropbox's CEO, got sick and tired of misplacing his USB drive, so he created the first personal and small . It was a radical idea in its time, and everyone loved it. Today, there are dozens of cheap or free cloud storage services. But -- beyond giving you storage -- they're very different.   How do you choose which one is right for you? You could just pick on the basis of how much free storage space you get from them. That's simple, but it only tells part of the story. The real value from a cloud storage service comes...

zdnet.com
Steven J. Vaughan
May 7
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
N/A
No Rating
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%