Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
Steven J. Vaughan-Nichols
CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews
PUBLIC
img-contested
N/A
0 reviews

RECENT ARTICLES

Sort by:
No Rating
Greg Kroah-Hartman bans University of Minnesota from Linux development for deliberately buggy patches | ZDNet

Greg Kroah-Hartman bans University of Minnesota from Linux development for deliberately buggy patches | ZDNet

By| April 21, 2021 -- 20:29 GMT (13:29 PDT)| Topic:Thanks to the , have become an important issue. Naturally enough, there's a lot of research being done into these attacks. Two graduate students at the University of Minnesota working on a paper entitled, "" tried to put the vulnerability into the Linux kernel. This kind of is commonplace… when the project includes people who know what's going on beforehand. That wasn't the case here. When they tried it again, Greg Kroah-Hartman, the Linux kernel maintainer for the stable branch, had had enough. Kroah-Hartman, one of the most respected of...

Apr 22
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Flying on Mars fueled with open-source software | ZDNet

Flying on Mars fueled with open-source software | ZDNet

Byfor| April 19, 2021 -- 16:28 GMT (09:28 PDT)| Topic:A small miracle happened at 3:31am ET on Monday morning. . This engineering feat was done with Linux, open-source software, and a NASA-built program based on the open-source (pronounced F prime) framework.At 11-light minutes from Earth, there was nothing easy about this. True, Mars has only a third of Earth's gravity, but Mars' atmosphere has only one-hundredth of the density of Earth's air. Indeed, Ingenuity is purely a technology demonstration. It's not designed to support the Perseverance mission, which is searching for signs of...

Apr 20
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
What's the most popular web browser in 2021? | ZDNet

What's the most popular web browser in 2021? | ZDNet

Byfor| April 14, 2021 -- 19:44 GMT (12:44 PDT)| Topic:I literally wrote the . Since then I've been keeping a close eye on web browsers, as our only choice was the WEB shell program. We've come a long way, but web browsers are still the primary way we connect with the endless fields of data, stories, and video that makes up the modern web. And, today, Google's Chrome is the way most of us work and play on the web.It's been really hard to get hard data on which were really the most popular web browsers. True, many companies claimed to have good information, such as and , but their . The US...

Apr 15
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Inspur, China's largest cloud hardware vendor, joins open-source patent protection consortium | ZDNet

Inspur, China's largest cloud hardware vendor, joins open-source patent protection consortium | ZDNet

Byfor| April 13, 2021 -- 15:44 GMT (08:44 PDT)| Topic:The Open Invention Network (OIN) defends the intellectual property (IP) rights of Linux and open-source software developers from patent trolls and the like. This is a global fight and now the OIN has a new, powerful allied member in China: . Inspur is a leading worldwide provider and China's leading data center infrastructure, cloud computing, and artificial intelligence (AI) server providers. While not a household name like Lenovo, Inspur ranks among the world's top-three server manufacturers.  As a leading server company, almost all of...

Apr 14
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Linux Foundation and OpenTreatments Foundation team up to fight rare genetic diseases | ZDNet

Linux Foundation and OpenTreatments Foundation team up to fight rare genetic diseases | ZDNet

Byfor| March 31, 2021 -- 19:19 GMT (12:19 PDT)| Topic:About a decade ago, I lost my lovely, barely teenage niece Sarah to a rare childhood brain cancer. When I first found out, I'd assumed there was surely some treatment that would give her a chance. There wasn't then, and there isn't now. It's still a death sentence. She's far from alone. Many with no map or plan on how to even mitigate them, never mind cure them. Now, to help them, , the nonprofit open-source organization, and the , which enables treatments for rare genetic diseases regardless of rarity and geography, announced the...

Apr 1
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
The good and the bad with Chrome web browser's new security defaults | ZDNet

The good and the bad with Chrome web browser's new security defaults | ZDNet

Byfor| March 25, 2021 -- 20:58 GMT (13:58 PDT)| Topic:First, the good news. Starting with the mid-April release of Google's Chrome 90 web browser, with a Transport Layer Security (TLS). These are the sites that show a closed lock in the Chrome Omnibox, what most of us know as the Chrome address (URL) bar. The bad news is that just because a site is secured by HTTPS doesn't mean it's trustworthy. A few years ago, WordFence, a well-regarded WordPress security company, found that pretending to be other sites. Because the certificates are valid, even though they're operating under false...

Mar 27
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Return of Stallman to FSF sparks outrage among open-source and free software leaders | ZDNet

Return of Stallman to FSF sparks outrage among open-source and free software leaders | ZDNet

Byfor| March 24, 2021 -- 21:37 GMT (14:37 PDT)| Topic:Richard M. Stallman (RMS) has always been a polarizing figure. There are people who love him and those that hate him. For example, RMS often clashed with Linus Torvalds. RMS has claimed that the . He also clashed with Eric S. Raymond, one of , and others over the . And, for many years, . The last finally caught up with him when RMS defended the behavior of the late Marvin Minsky, AI pioneer and associate of notorious billionaire sex offender Jeffrey Epstein. Subsequently, . Then, to the surprise of many, .This move has enraged many open...

Mar 26
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Open Source Initiative election hacked | ZDNet

Open Source Initiative election hacked | ZDNet

Byfor| March 24, 2021 -- 17:49 GMT (10:49 PDT)| Topic:The 's recent board election was hacked. The organization will re-run the election once the voting process's vulnerability has been analyzed and fixed.Deb Nicholson, the OSI's interim general manager, wrote that a and had an impact on the outcome of the recent Board Election. That vulnerability has now been closed. OSI will engage an independent expert to do a forensic investigation to help us understand how this happened and put measures in place to keep it from ever happening again." So, what happened? OSI Executive Director, Josh...

Mar 25
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
Linus Torvalds on how AMD and Intel are changing how processor interrupts are handled | ZDNet

Linus Torvalds on how AMD and Intel are changing how processor interrupts are handled | ZDNet

Byfor| March 18, 2021 -- 21:00 GMT (14:00 PDT)| Topic:Quietly, both and have decided it's time to finally clean up some truly ancient and funky CPU design choices, which date all the way back to the early 1980s' 80286 architecture. They're going separate ways, and.AMD was the first to come out with its proposed changes in February 2021: . Intel followed in March with its . What sparked Torvald's interest was when someone on the deep technology conversation forum introduced the topic with the note: "" Torvalds, however, doesn't see it that way. He wrote: Honestly, it doesn't look too bad....

Mar 20
Share
Save
Review
No Rating
One step closer to getting 10 gigabit at home | ZDNet

One step closer to getting 10 gigabit at home | ZDNet

Byfor| April 23, 2021 -- 15:43 GMT (08:43 PDT)| Topic:I just upgraded my internet to 1Gbps this week using a cable modem. Believe it or not, I could use more. I do a lot with , and I run virtual machines (VM) off clouds and . I'm not alone. With so many of us working from home now, even a 1Gbps feels confining. Now, thanks to and , we're seeing the first tests of system-on-chip (SoC) devices. These are ZDNet's top picks for Wi-Fi routers suitable for home offices and remote working.Comcast's tests, done between Philadelphia and Denver, show that FDX can work with DOCSIS 4. FDX enables cable...

Apr 24
Share
Save
Review
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
img-contested
N/A
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%