Tiernan Ray
Tiernan Ray
CRITIC
N/A
No Rating
0 reviews
PUBLIC
N/A
No Rating
0 reviews
RECENT ARTICLES
gold-cheese75%
MIT’s machine learning designed a COVID-19 vaccine that could cover a lot more people | ZDNet

MIT’s machine learning designed a COVID-19 vaccine that could cover a lot more people | ZDNet

By| July 31, 2020 -- 13:45 GMT (06:45 PDT)| Topic:There are currently 25 vaccines to fight COVID-19 , another 139 vaccines in a pre-clinical stage, and many more being researched.  But many of those vaccines, if they are at all successful, might not produce an immune response in portions of the population. That's because some people's bodies will react differently to the materials in the vaccine that are supposed to stimulate virus-fighting T cells.  And so just figuring out how much coverage a vaccine has, meaning, how many people it will stimulate to mount an immune response, is a big...

zdnet.com
Tiernan Ray
Jul 31
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Honeywell claims to have world’s highest performing quantum computer according to IBM’s benchmark | ZDNet

Honeywell claims to have world’s highest performing quantum computer according to IBM’s benchmark | ZDNet

By| June 18, 2020 -- 22:11 GMT (15:11 PDT)| Topic:Industrial giant Honeywell it is now live with a quantum computer running client jobs that uses six effective quantum bits, or qubits, and a resulting "volume" of compute that it claims makes the system the most powerful quantum machine currently in production. The announcement fulfills a vow the company made in March to offer a machine with a quantum volume of 64, by ZDNet's Lawrence Dignan in a conversation with Honeywell's head of quantum, Tony Uttley, who is president of the division Honeywell Quantum Solutions.  "In March we said within...

zdnet.com
Tiernan Ray
Jun 18
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Exclusive: Internet pioneer Leonard Kleinrock on the great experiment we’re living through, and why the internet probably won’t break | ZDNet

Exclusive: Internet pioneer Leonard Kleinrock on the great experiment we’re living through, and why the internet probably won’t break | ZDNet

By| June 3, 2020 -- 13:24 GMT (06:24 PDT)| Topic:A little over fifty years ago, the laboratory of Leonard Kleinrock at UCLA sent the first packet of data over the Internet. Kleinrock sat down last month to talk with ZDNet, via Zoom call, about the phenomenon of aa life lived more and more on the internet amidst the . In his view, "the world is now conducting an experiment they never could have conducted on their own," the result of which is not just that we'll learn things about society, but that "we'll never return to where we were."This TechRepublic Premium ebook compiles the latest on...

zdnet.com
Tiernan Ray
Jun 3
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Facebook says AI has a ways to go to detect nasty memes | ZDNet

Facebook says AI has a ways to go to detect nasty memes | ZDNet

By| May 12, 2020 -- 17:35 GMT (10:35 PDT)| Topic:Mean memes, combinations of words and images that denigrate people based on qualities such as religion or ethnicity, pose an interesting challenge for machine learning programs — and will for some time, according to Facebook. New research by the social media giant shows deep learning forms of artificial intelligence fall far short of humans in the ability to "detect" hurtful memes. A research paper , titled "The Hateful Memes Challenge: Detecting Hate Speech in Multimodal Memes," compiles a data set of 10,000 examples of mean memes found in...

zdnet.com
Tiernan Ray
May 12
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
Commvault sues startups Cohesity, Rubrik for infringing 7 patents | ZDNet

Commvault sues startups Cohesity, Rubrik for infringing 7 patents | ZDNet

By| April 21, 2020 -- 12:43 GMT (05:43 PDT)| Topic:Venerable enterprise software technology vendor Commvault Systems it filed suit in federal court in Delaware against startups Cohesity, Inc., and Rubrik, Inc., both based in Silicon Valley, for collectively infringing on seven patents Commvault owns spanning a range of technologies for functions including back-ups of system images and cloud computing and virtual machine management. The suit is the first time that Commvault, based in Tinton Falls, New Jersey, has ever sued a company for infringing on its intellectual property in its 26-year...

zdnet.com
Tiernan Ray
Apr 21
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
NYU scientists: Largest US study of COVID-19 finds obesity the single biggest 'chronic' factor in New York City's hospitalizations | ZDNet

NYU scientists: Largest US study of COVID-19 finds obesity the single biggest 'chronic' factor in New York City's hospitalizations | ZDNet

By| April 12, 2020 -- 18:40 GMT (11:40 PDT)| Topic:[Correction: The headline of the article has been changed to reflect that obesity is the single most important "chronic" factor, as opposed to age, and the article has been updated to reflect the fact that age is still the single biggest factor determining admissions.]For months, scientists have been poring over data about cases and deaths to understand why it is that manifests itself in different ways around the globe, with certain factors such as the age of the population repeatedly popping up as among the most significant...

zdnet.com
Tiernan Ray
Apr 12
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
gold-cheese75%
MIT’s deep learning found an antibiotic for a germ nothing else could kill | ZDNet

MIT’s deep learning found an antibiotic for a germ nothing else could kill | ZDNet

By| March 13, 2020 -- 20:14 GMT (13:14 PDT)| Topic:One hundred years ago, the state of the art in finding antibiotics was epitomized by the playful explorations of Alexander Fleming, the Scotsman who discovered penicillin.  "I play with microbes," Fleming is quoted as having said. "It is very pleasant to break the rules and to be able to find something nobody had thought of." Today's research in antibiotics is conducted somewhat more mechanically, perhaps, but it's still important to break the rules sometimes, to look where one might not otherwise. Scientists at the Massachusetts Institute...

zdnet.com
Tiernan Ray
Mar 13
Worthy
Share
Save
Give Tip
Review
OUTLETS
zdnet.com

zdnet.com

CRITIC
N/A
No Rating
PUBLIC
img-trusted
75%